Edit the contents of a path

  • Updated

Admins, editors, and contributors can edit paths for which they are the main author or a co-author.

Admins and editors can edit paths that belong to their group. Admins can also edit paths that belong to its subgroups. Platform admins can edit any path.

To edit the cover image, title, description, skills, or tags, see Edit the overview of a path. To edit the owner group, source language, or options such as linear progression, see Edit the settings of a path.

Add a step to a path

A step is a piece of training that learners complete as part of the path: a course, a subpath, a classroom, an assessment, or a quiz (AI-generated or positioning). A path can have up to 300 steps.

You can add any content you can play yourself. Platform admins can add any content.

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right side of the path row, click pen.svg Edit.
  3. At the bottom of the Steps section, on the right of Add a step, click a step type.

Learners who already completed the path keep their status, but their progress drops below 100% until they play the new step.

Add an action to a path

An action sends a message to learners at a given point in the path: an email, a Slack notification, or a Microsoft Teams notification. Emails can also be sent to the learners' managers. Unlike steps, actions have no impact on learner progress.

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right side of the path row, click pen.svg Edit.
  3. At the bottom of the Steps section, on the right of Add an action, click an action type.

Reorder steps in a path

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right side of the path row, click pen.svg Edit.
  3. In the Steps section, click and hold on a step.
  4. Drag and drop the step to the new order.

If you reorder the steps of a linear path, learners can still play the steps that they started (even if they would now have to complete steps before them).

Delete a step from a path

Deleting a step from a path will erase all statistics and data from users on that step, within the context of the path.

If the step is a course, and a user played that course outside this path, deleting the step will not erase statistics and data from attempts made outside the context of the path.

If the step is a path, deleting the step will remove the corresponding child sessions, and their associated data and statistics.

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right side of the path row, click pen.svg Edit.
  3. Scroll down to the Steps section.
  4. At the top right of a step, click 3Dots.svg→ Remove.
Check out our blog for more L&D resources.

Was this article helpful?

23 out of 53 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request