Delete a user

  • Updated

Deleting an account from the platform will remove it from all groups. It will not count as a user seat, and the user will not be able to connect to the platform.

You can still access statistics from deleted users in Dashboard>Users>Deleted.

Deleting a user will not delete the messages posted by them, nor courses, programs, paths, or any other item created by them.

Delete an account from the platform

  1. In the left sidebar, click on the platform group
  2. At the top right of the group page, click ... > Settings
  3. Click on the section USERS
  4. In the left sidebar, click Delete users
  5. Click on a user
  6. If the user is also part of a private group, check Also delete this user from all the following private subgroups
  7. On the bottom right, click DELETE USER

A deleted account may be reinstated.

Delete several accounts from the platform

  1. In the left sidebar, click on the platform group
  2. At the top right of the group page, click ... > Settings
  3. Click on the section USERS
  4. In the left sidebar, click Delete users>Delete multiple users
  5. Enter the users' emails, separated by a comma
  6. Click DELETE USERS
  7. If a user is also part of a private group, check Also delete this user from all the following private subgroups
  8. On the bottom, click DELETE USERS

A deleted account may be reinstated.

Remove an account from a group without deleting it from the platform

If the account belongs to more than one group, removing an account from a group will not remove it from other groups.

Removing a user from all their groups will delete them from the platform.

Removing a user from the platform group will delete them from all public groups.

  1. In the left sidebar, click on the platform group
  2. At the top right of the group page, click ... >Settings
  3. Click on the section USERS
  4. Click on a user
  5. Uncheck all their roles in the group

Find the deletion date of a user

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. On the left, click PROGRAM SESSIONS
  3. On the top right, click Download (arrow pointing down)
  4. On the bottom right, click Download

In the downloaded file, the column Deleted user shows the date and hour of the user deletion.

If the hour is "00:00", the user was automatically deleted (for instance, with an automatic deletion date).

Transferring authorship of a course in case the main author is deleted

If the deleted user was the main author of a course, the co-author having been added first becomes the main author. If several co-authors were added at the same time, the co-author higher in the alphabetical order of first names becomes the main author.

If the course had no co-author, the administrator who deleted the user becomes the main author of the course.

If the deleted user was the main author of a course without co-authors, and the user deletion was programmed or done through API, the first Administrator of the lowest level private group containing all groups from which the deleted user belonged becomes the main author of the course.

The ownership of activities is not transferred. You may copy the activity to become its owner.

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.