Create a group

  • Updated

About groups and group privacy

Groups are useful in three typical cases:

  1. share courses, sessions and paths to a set of users (instead of individually to each learner);
  2. track statistics per group;
  3. create a community where people can help each other.

A group can be public or private. Administrators of a group automatically have administrator permissions on all groups below it.

  • Public
    • Members of the group can be seen by other members of the group, and members of all publicly connected groups.
    • Learners of the group are automatically added to all higher level groups, until and including the first private group encountered.
    • Comments (in the forum of a course’s activity or a Learning Need) published in the group can be seen by members of the group, and members of all publicly connected groups.
    • Messages (in the newsfeed of a group, or the profile page of a user) published in the group can only be seen by members of the group.
  • Private
    • Members of the group can be seen by other members of the group, and members of all publicly connected groups.
    • Comments (in the forum of a course’s activity or a Learning Need) published in the group can be seen by members of the group, and members of all publicly connected groups.
    • Messages (in the newsfeed of a group, or the profile page of a user) published in the group can only be seen by members of the group.

A group is publicly connected to another group if they share the same lowest private ancestor; there must be a public connection between them through the group hierarchy links.

In particular, a private group is publicly connected to all public groups below it, that are not separated by another private group.

 

Image 2022-02-23 at 9.16.01 AM.jpg

Create a group

Administrators can create groups. They automatically become an administrator of the new group.

  1. In the left sidebar of the homepage, at the bottom left, click on a group you’re administrating.
  2. At the top right, click ... > Settings.
  3. In the left sidebar, click Hierarchy.
  4. At the top right of the list of groups, click +.
  5. Enter the Name of the group.
  6. In Is the group public or private?, select Public or Private.
  7. At the bottom right, click CREATE.

Change group privacy

See Change the privacy (private/public) of a group.

Add users to a group

See Invite a user from a group.

Remove users from a group

See Remove an account from a group without deleting it from the platform.

Display rules for group cover images

Image_2020-10-09_at_11.57.35_AM.png

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.