Change the privacy (private/public) of a group

  • Updated

Group administrators can change the privacy of their group.

The privacy of the platform group cannot be changed (spoilers: it’s a private group).

Turn a public group into a private group

When turning a public group into a private group, messages posted in the group become visible only to the members of that group.

  1. In the left sidebar, click on a public group, then Settings
  2. In the section Privacy, select Private

Turn a private group into a public group

When turning a private group into a public group, messages posted in the group (including old messages) become visible to all members of the platform group.

  1. In the left sidebar, click on a private group, then Settings
  2. In the section Privacy, select Public

If group hierarchy is enabled on your platform, and you’re changing the privacy settings of a subgroup, messages posted in the subgroup become visible to all members of the private group above it (but no higher).

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.