Run a Project

  • Updated

Who can use this feature?

  • Platform Administrators, Platform Owners, and Group Admins can create new projects.
  • All users who are assigned to a project team can edit and contribute to the project.
  • Available on the Champion solution. Non-Champion plans have 2 projects per group.
  • Accessible only on the Web Application.

---

This article provides a basic overview of how to run a project.

When you run a project, the project page acts as a single place of reference for all project activities and communication. From here you'll be able to:

  • Create and assign important tasks and deadlines.
  • Collaborate with the project team on project topics in the forum.
  • Compile relevant resources like documents, courses, or programs in one spot.
  • Create and review new courses.

  The project page has four sections. Three correspond to the project status.

Overview

Contains high-level project information.

Create

Status = Creation in progress

During this phase, team members can:

Review

Status = In review

During this phase, team members can:

Share

Status = Ready to share

During this phase, team members:

Overview

Admins enter the info here when they create a new project. Team members can edit some information depending on their project and group roles.

Title and description All team members can edit the title and description.
Project Deadline All team members can add or update the project deadline.
Group No users can change the project group.
Project Lead Platform admins, Group admins, and the Project Lead can change the Project Lead.
Team All team members can add or remove project team members.
Resources All team members can add or remove project resources.

Create

New projects are in the Creation in progress status.  During this phase, team members can:

We recommend team members enable email notifications so they don't miss important project notifications. Other helpful project notifications:

  • Comment on a project I am involved in
  • I have been assigned a task in a project
  • Weekly recap of my remaining tasks

Create a project outline

One of the first project steps is creating the project outline. All team members can help build this out:

💡If you use the same set of tasks in several projects, you can get a head start on the project outline with custom project templates.

  1. In the left navigation panel, click folderPaper.pngProjects.
  2. In the Projects section, select the project.
  3. Go to the Create section.
  4. Add a new course, existing course, and/or course tasks as needed.
  5. (OPTIONAL) Assign course reviewers.  
  6. (OPTIONAL) Add project, course, and task deadlines.
  7. (OPTIONAL) Add task owners.

For more information on creating a project, go here.

Remove a course from a project

Team members can remove courses from a Project. Removed courses can still be accessed through the Course Dashboard.  Team members won't be able to link removed courses to the Project again, but they can add them as a project resource.

To remove a course from a project:

  1. In the left navigation panel, click folderPaper.pngProjects.
  2. In the Projects section, select the project.
  3. In the Create section, scroll to the applicable new course.
  4. To the right of the course title, click bin.pngRemove course from project.

Review

When all of the project outline items from the Create outline are marked as complete, the project moves to In Review status.  During this phase, team members can:

There are two ways to assign reviewers:

  • During the Create phase, through the automatic Choose reviewers course task.
  • At any time, by manually adding a task in the Review section.

Adding reviewers through Create section automatically adds a task to the Review section

Both options send notification emails to reviewers. Team members also get a notification when reviewers complete a review.

💡Email notifications go out to reviewers as soon as they are assigned, so make sure the team has made enough progress on the courses or that there are clear instructions.

For more information on assigning and processing reviews, go here.

Share

When all review tasks are marked as complete, the project moves to the Ready to share status. During this phase, team members:

Share your project

Team members can edit and create tasks that define how they will share the project. Here are some options:

Once you've decided how to share, create and complete the project tasks.

Complete project

After the share tasks are done, mark the project as complete:

  1. In the left navigation panel, click folderPaper.pngProjects.
  2. In the Projects section, select the project.
  3. Go to the Share section.
  4. At the bottom right, click Complete Project.
  5. Click Complete Project in the dialog box to confirm

The status of complete projects is Delivered. You can view these projects on the Project Homepage in the Delivered section.

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request