Connect an LTI tool to a group

  • Updated

Group admins can connect an Learning Tools Interoperability (LTI) tool to a group, making the tool's content available to authors in that group and its subgroups. LTI lets external content providers connect directly to 360Learning.

Activating an LTI tool cascades to all subgroups of the group where you activated it. Authors in any descendant group can add content from the tool, even if the tool doesn't appear in the subgroups' own settings.

You can't edit a tool's connection details after you activate it.

You can't delete a group, or one of its subgroups, that has an active LTI tool connection.

You can activate up to 10 LTI tools per group.

Connect an LTI tool

Before you start, get the following connection details from your LTI tool provider:

  • Login URL
  • Launch redirect URLs
  • Either a public key or a keyset URL

To connect the tool:

  1. In the left sidebar, hover over a group, then click settings.svg Settings.
    • If settings.svg Settings doesn't appear in your sidebar, click on the group first, then click settings.svg Settings in the top right of the main section.
  2. In the left menu, click Integrations.
  3. In the left, click LTI tools.
  4. In the main section, click Add LTI tool.
  5. Enter the connection details.
  6. Click Save and continue.
  7. Copy and paste the displayed details into the tool provider configuration.
  8. At the bottom, click Mark setup complete.

The tool shows as Active in the group's settings, and authors in the group and its subgroups can start adding content from the tool to their courses.

Deactivate an LTI tool

Deactivating an LTI tool preserves its statistics, but existing LTI activities using this tool become unavailable to learners: they see a message that the content is no longer available.

  1. In the left sidebar, hover over the group, then click settings.svg Settings.
    • If settings.svg Settings doesn't appear in your sidebar, click on the group first, then click settings.svg Settings in the top right of the main section.
  2. In the left menu, click Integrations.
  3. In the left, click LTI tools.
  4. Click the LTI tool.
  5. At the bottom, click Deactivate tool.
Check out our blog for more L&D resources.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request