Who can use this feature?
Shared mode enables users to train offline by automatically downloading a list of courses and program sessions to a device, and helps users share devices by letting them complete offline training on the same device without impacting each other’s stats.
Select training content that will be downloaded during Shared Mode
When shared mode is enabled, devices automatically download courses and program sessions that:
- Are visible to the currently logged-in user.
- Have the automatic download setting enabled.
⚠️ Downloaded courses can not display imported activities from other modules or other documents provided with a link.
- What it can display: Images, uploaded videos, office documents, questions, and cheat sheets.
- What it can’t display: Videos web links, embedded content, or reused content.
Add courses to shared mode download
To add a course to the shared mode download, add it to the group catalog and then enable automatic download:
- At the top of the homepage, click Courses.
- Hover over the course row and click Edit.
- In the top right corner, click Settings.
- Enable Automatic download.
- Click out of the box to save the update.
Add program sessions to shared mode download
To enable automatic download on a program session:
- At the top of the homepage, click Program Sessions.
- On the right side of the session row, click Edit.
- In the Session general properties section, click Advanced options.
- Enable Automatic download on shared mobile devices.
- (If applicable) Read the message and click Continue.
💡 Program sessions are still tied to their session start date. If you enroll a learner in a session that’s available with shared mode, it will be available to them offline once the session starts.
Enable shared mode on a mobile device
⚠️ Because synced data depends on user rights, we recommend turning this on with a Coach, Group Admin, or Platform Admin account.
What does this mean?
If a course or program session isn’t visible to the connected user when shared mode syncs training content from the platform, that training content will not download or be available offline for other shared mode users.
When does shared mode sync training content?
- When a user enables the setting.
- During daily syncs.
To enable shared mode on a device:
- Log in to the mobile app.
- At the top right of your screen, tap on your profile picture.
- Tap Settings.
- Enable Shared mode.
Once the setting is turned on, courses and program sessions will start being downloaded to the device.
Shared mode sync behavior
In addition to the initial download, shared mode syncs content from the platform on a daily basis.
An existing course is marked for automatic download after the initial download (with no other course edits).
The course will not automatically sync. Toggle the shared mode option off and on to download.
An existing course is edited after the initial download.
Course changes will automatically download as part of the daily sync.
Media added to courses through the add document button is updated after the initial download.
The course will not automatically sync. Toggle the automatic download option in course settings.
A course is archived or deleted.
The course will automatically be removed as part of the daily sync.
Program session blocks are reordered after the initial download.
Program order changes will automatically download as part of the daily sync.
A program session is archived or deleted.
The program session will automatically be removed as part of the daily sync.