Edit a course

  • Updated

Authors, co-authors and platform administrators can edit courses, even after they have been published or added to a program.

You can access draft courses by clicking Dashboard in the left sidebar, then COURSES>Drafts.

This article focuses on editing the contents of a course. To edit the settings of a course within a program, see Setting up a course within a program.

Edit the general settings of a course

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, at the top, click GENERAL SETTINGS

You can change the following elements:

You can also change the following elements, by clicking Course Settings (icon of a cog) on the top right.

Add an activity

Learners who already started the course will not see the new activity. They can see the new version of the course if they launch a new program session with the course.

If the course is available in their Catalog, Learners can see the new version when they play it again after finishing it, or if they click Refresh (arrows in circle, next to RESUME), in the course homepage.

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, below the list of activities, click on a type of activity

Edit an activity

Changes made to an activity are instantly visible to all users who have access to the course.

Edit a document

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, click on a document
  5. At the top right of the document preview, click Settings (cog icon)
  6. Click Update the file (if the document was uploaded), or edit the Source

You can also change its name, description, thumbnail, and excerpt (if it is a video).

Edit a cheat sheet or a question

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, click on a cheat sheet or a question
  5. Make the changes
  6. Click outside the field to save changes

Edit a video recording

To change a video recording, you will need to delete the old one and rerecord:

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, click on a recording
  5. At the top right of the video, click Delete (trash icon)
  6. Click DELETE
  7. Click START RECORDING
  8. Record the new video
  9. On the bottom, click STOP RECORDING
  10. On the top right of the video, click SAVE

Reorder activities

Learners who already started the course will not see the new activity. They can see the new version of the course if they launch a new program session with the course.

If the course is available in their Catalog, Learners can see the new version when they play it again after finishing it, or if they click Refresh (arrows in circle, next to RESUME), in the course homepage.

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, drag and drop activities to reorder them

The new order is automatically saved.

Delete an activity

Learners who already started the course will not see the new activity. They can see the new version of the course if they launch a new program session with the course.

If the course is available in their Catalog, Learners can see the new version when they play it again after finishing it, or if they click Refresh (arrows in circle, next to RESUME), in the course homepage.

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Click on a course
  4. In the left sidebar, on the right of the activity name, click Delete (icon of an X)
  5. Click Yes

Edit a SCORM course

Replacing one SCORM file with another is instantly visible to all Learners who have access to the course.

  1. In the left sidebar, click Dashboard
  2. In the left sidebar, click COURSES
  3. Hover over the course row to access icons on the right side of the row
  4. Click the Edit course (pen icon)
  5. Click the gear icon in the SCORM activity
  6. Click UPDATE THE FILE 
  7. Select the SCORM file on your computer (must be a .zip file)
  8. Click SAVE

For users who have not completed the course, the progress is not kept from one file to another (the cmi.suspend_data element is deleted).

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.