Integrate with BambooHR

  • Updated

This feature requires the HCM Connect Solution. Contact your Account Manager to know more.

You can synchronize users from BambooHR to 360Learning. In particular, you can:

  • choose where the users will be synchronized in 360Learning (the platform group, or a specific private group);
  • choose the administrator of the connector (synchronized users will be considered invited by this user on 360Learning);
  • synchronize all your BambooHR users, or only a subset;
  • synchronize additional BambooHR fields as labels in 360Learning;
  • synchronize users in a group hierarchy structure (instead of all users in a single group).

Upon activation, the connector will:

  • add synchronized BambooHR users to 360Learning, if they didn’t previously exist,
  • edit existing 360Learning user fields with the BambooHR values.

It will not delete, nor synchronize, users who exist only in 360Learning.

By default, the following user fields are synchronized:

BambooHR API Field Name Where the field is visible in BambooHR Field name in 360Learning
workEmail (primary key) Personal > Contact > Work Email Email
firstName Personal > Basic Information > First Name First name
lastName Personal > Basic Information > Last Name Last name
workPhone Personal > Contact > Work Phone Phone
jobTitle Job > Job Information > Job Title Title / Employment
linkedin Personal > Social Links > LinkedIn URL LinkedIn
supervisor Job > Job Information > Reports To Manager

Once the connector is configured, it will perform a daily synchronization, at midnight:

  • if a synchronized user has a field with a different value in 360Learning and BambooHR, the BambooHR value will replace the 360Learning value;
  • if a synchronized user is deleted in BambooHR, it will be deleted in 360Learning;
  • if a synchronized user is deleted in 360Learning (but not in BambooHR), it will be recreated in 360Learning.

This is a one-way synchronization. The connector does not write any information in BambooHR.

Step 1: choose the synchronized group in 360Learning

You can synchronize users in 360Learning with the platform group, or a specific private group. BambooHR users will be added to, and synchronized with, that group only.

Note down the following items:

Step 2: choose the administrator of the connector

The administrator of the connector must have administrator permissions on the synchronized group.

Synchronized users will be considered invited by this user on 360Learning.

Note down the following items:

  • email of the user with administrator permissions on the synchronized group.

Step 3 (optional): choose the filter on BambooHR users

By default, all BambooHR users in your directory will be synchronized with the target group in 360Learning.

You can choose to synchronize only certain BambooHR users, based on the value of their fields.

For example, you can synchronize only users with the value Paris in the field Location. In the example below, only Ada Lovelace and Annie Easley will be synchronized:

{
	"name": "Ada Lovelace",
	"location": "Paris"
}
{
	"name": "Karen Jones",
	"location": "London"
}
{
	"name": "Annie Easley",
	"location": "Paris"
}

You can filter users on more than one field; in this case, users must match the values in all the fields (not just one of them).

You can filter users on more than one value for a given field; in this case, users can match either of those values.

If you choose to filter users, note down the following items:

Step 4 (optional): choose labels

On top of the default synchronized fields, you can add any BambooHR field (standard or custom) as a 360Learning label, as long as it is reachable through the BambooHR API with its ID. You can find the full list of accessible items for your platform with the following route:

  • https://api.bamboohr.com/api/gateway.php/mycompany/v1/meta/fields

Replace mycompany with your actual platform name in the URL https://mycompany.bamboohr.com/.

The label in 360Learning will be displayed with the format field_name: field_value (for example, if a field is called Location and a user has a value Paris, the 360Learning label will be called Location: Paris).

If you choose to synchronize labels, note down the following items:

  • for each field, its BambooHR API Field Name;
  • the name for the field that will be displayed in 360Learning (it can be different from BambooHR).

Additional rules for labels synchronization

  • If a synchronized label is removed from a user in 360Learning, it is added back to the user at the next synchronization.
  • If a synchronized label is deleted from the 360Learning platform, it is recreated and added back to the user at the next synchronization.
  • If a synchronized label is renamed in 360Learning, a new label is created and added to the user at the next synchronization (the renamed label still exists in 360Learning, but is removed from all synchronized users).
  • If a non-synchronized label is added to a synchronized user, the label will be kept on the user at the next synchronization.

Step 5 (optional): choose group structure synchronization

By default, synchronized BambooHR users will be added to a single group in 360Learning. You can choose instead to synchronize them in a group hierarchy structure, based on the value of their fields.

If you wish to do so, contact your Solution Architect, who will organize a workshop with you, to determine the best hierarchy to reflect your organization structure.

mceclip0.png

In the example above, the group structure is:

  • (Top level: synchronized group.)
  • Level 1: location.
  • Level 2: division.

The connector does not create groups; if the field values of a synchronized user do not correspond to any existing group in 360Learning, the user is added to the synchronized (top level) group.

If you choose to activate group structure synchronization, note down the following items:

  • the BambooHR API Field Name of the fields corresponding to each level in the hierarchy (in the example above: location and division);
  • for each field, the level in the group hierarchy (in the example above: location is level 1, and division is level 2);
  • for each field, the possible values (in the example above: the possible values for location are New York and Paris, and the possible values for division are Marketing, Sales, and HR).

Step 6: request the activation of the BambooHR connector

Send an email to your CSP or Solution Architect, asking for the activation of the BambooHR connector, with the following items:

Step 7: test the connector

When your SA activates the connector for your platform, they will provide you with a URL for testing the connector.

Example:

  • Your production platform URL is: myacademy.360learning.com
  • You test instance URL will be something like: myacademy.360mooc.com:14532

This test instance is a snapshot of your production instance at the moment it was created. It lives separately from your production instance.

  • Any modification done to your production instance is not reflected in the test instance.
  • Any modification done to your test instance is not reflected in the production instance.
  • The test instance does not send any email.

The test instance is a development and test platform. There is no quality of service attached to it. In particular, it might be erased at any time. If you cannot log in to it anymore, ask your Solution Architect to restart it.

In this test instance, daily synchronization scripts need to be run manually by 360Learning. Your Solution Architect will be able to perform the synchronization at your request.

Suggestions for test scenarii

  • All Active users in the BambooHR instance should be seen as Learners in your synced group
  • Check that the data for each user are properly copied
  • If you modify a user, its data should be modified in 360Learning after a sync
  • If you create a new user in BambooHR, he should be created in 360Learning
  • If you terminate a user in BambooHR, he should be archived in 360Learning

Remember that you will need to request a manual sync to your Solution Architect.

Step 8: deploy the BambooHR connector in production

When you’ve run all tests and are satisfied with the results, you can ask your Solution Architect to deploy the connector to your production platform.

Synchronized users will receive an email notification, with:

  • the email they can use for login;
  • an initial password, that they will be asked to change when they first connect.
Check out our blog for more L&D resources.