Register users to a Classroom slot in a path session

  • Updated

Classrooms are live events of your paths. They can be virtual or onsite, and have several slots.

Inviting learners to a Classroom requires three steps:

  • Add a Classroom step to a path, which handles:
    • adding a Classroom step to a path;
    • adding default messages and attachments to the step for all sessions.
  • Add a Classroom slot to a path session, which handles:
    • configuring virtual or onsite Classroom slots;
    • creating additional slots;
    • managing dates for each slot;
    • adding trainers;
    • adding slot-specific messages and attachments.
  • Register users to a Classroom slot (current article), which handles:
    • registering learners to slots;
    • unregistering learners from slots;
    • switching users around slots;
    • allowing learners to self-register to slots.

We will use the term Classroom step to refer to a Classroom in the path editor, and Classroom slot to refer to a specific Classroom event in a path session. 

Register users to a Classroom slot

If a user was enrolled in the path session before a Classroom slot was created, you will have to register them manually to a slot.

If a user is enrolled in the path session after there is at least one Classroom slot, they will be automatically registered to the first available slot.

Register users manually to a Classroom slot

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right of a path, click Edit pen.png.
  3. Below the title of the Classroom, click N users needing slot registration.
  4. Select the users and click CONFIRM at the bottom right.
  5. Choose a Classroom slot.
  6. At the bottom right, click CONFIRM.

Only users with an active account can be registered to a Classroom slot. An account is considered active when an invited user connects to the platform for the first time, or if the account was directly created. See Add users to the platform.

On top of the email notification for the path session, learners who are registered to a Classroom slot receive specific Classroom notifications:

Unregister a user from a slot

  1. Open the settings page of the session.
  2. On the bottom right of a Classroom slot, click N learner(s) (N being the number of learners currently registered to the slot).
  3. Uncheck the user.
  4. On the bottom right, click CONFIRM.

The unregistered user is now added to the list of unregistered users, on the bottom left of the Classroom slots.

Unregistered users receive an email notification informing them that the Classroom slot is cancelled.

Change the slot of a user

You can change the slot of a user by unregistering them from their current slot, then registering them to the new slot.

Allow learners to self-register to slots

Session instructors can allow learners to choose their slot, if they are enrolled in the path session.

You can still manually assign learners to a slot by default, but they will be able to switch to another one.

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right of a path, click Edit pen.png.
  3. Click on the Classroom to open the Options side panel.
  4. Enable the Self registration option.
    • Optional: Define a time range within which learners will be able to self register to the Classroom

Learners who are not registered to any slot in the session will see the list of all slots, with the button REGISTER on the bottom right of each of them.

If they are already registered to a slot, they will see only that slot, with the button SWITCH SLOT at the bottom right. They can click on it to switch slots (if they choose Choose later in the slot selection interface, they will become unregistered).

Verify if learners have RSVP'd to a slot

Session instructors can verify if learners have RSVP'd to a classroom slot.

  1. At the top of the homepage, click Paths.
  2. On the right of a path, click Edit pen.png.
  3. Scroll down to the classroom slot and click learners people.svg.

Learners who have been invited to the classroom slot will appear in this list, and instructors will be able to view their response (Accepted, Declined, or No Response).

Check out our blog for more L&D resources.

Was this article helpful?

1 out of 2 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request